At 11 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 4, with 100% of precincts reporting, the Presidential race had already been declared for Joe Biden in the state of Illinois by many national media outlets. Still the final tally across the nation was not complete yet, so the race was not over. It was announced that mail-in ballots in some states could take up to a week to be processed.

Illinois’ national representatives

In Federal races, U.S. Senator Richard Durbin held his seat, earning 52% of the vote in DuPage over his Republican opponent Mark C. Curran, Jr.

In Congressional races, Democrat Mike Quigley was winning another term over Tommy Hanson in the 5th District, but the numbers only showed DuPage County, whereas he represents a portion of Cook County, too.

The same applies to 8th District, where DuPage delivered more than 64,600 votes to Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi, who is a Democrat.

Voters also had their eyes on the race in the 6th Congressional District, where Democrat Sean Casten garnered almost 55% of the vote over Jeanne Ives.

In the state

In the race for State Representative in Illinois’ 45th District, Republican Seth Lewis beat Diane Pappas by almost 4000 votes, which was 54% of the total ballots cast.

The race in the 47th District was equally decisive as State Rep. Deanne Mazzochi held her seat over Democrat Jennifer Zordani by more than 4600 votes representing 54% of the total.

Republican Peter Breen appeared to be taking a loss in the 48th District, attempting to take the seat he had held previously. But incumbent Terra Costa Howard received in excess of 54% of the vote, winning by more than 4000 votes.

Katheen Willis received almost 60% of the vote in the 77th State Representative District, leaving Anthony Airdo in the dust.

DuPage County races

The race for DuPage County Circuit Court Clerk proved to be a nail-biter for incumbent Chris Kachiroubas, who has held the seat since 2004. Kachiroubas’ race appears to have ended in defeat to Democrat Candice Adams, although numbers are not official until as late as Nov. 17 after mail-in ballots are counted.

Also at the County level, Board member Donald E. Puchalski held his seat over Democrat Zahra Suratwala to represent District 1. In District 2, Sean T. Noonan appears to have taken a fall to Democratic challenger Paul Deacon Garcia. Again, as long as mail-in ballots are postmarked by Nov. 3, they will still be counted through Nov. 17.


One of the most hotly-contested races was the Constitutional Amendment about income tax rates, also known as the “Fair Tax vs. Flat Tax” vote. In DuPage County, almost 60% of voters said “No,” preferring not to make a change but rather to retain a flat tax in Illinois.

DuPage County’s #1 Proposition to Support Law Enforcement was approved with more than 75% of the vote. That means voters elected to have DuPage County make financial support of law enforcement and public safety its top budgeting priority in the future.

The County’s #2 Proposition PPE Stockpile garnered approval with almost 90% of the vote. In other words, voters believe DuPage County should obtain a stockpile of personal protective equipment (PPE) for nursing homes, first responders, healthcare providers and others who may not be able to obtain it.

The #3 Proposition to Fund Law Enforcement in DuPage County was supported with almost 90% of the vote. This was a Proposition to continue to fund and support training methods for local law enforcement agencies.

The Village of Lombard’s Proposition to permit video gaming was approved 11,214 votes to 10,266, a difference of about 950.

In York Township, a Proposition about Senior Tax passed with 82%. The Proposition for Climate Change in York Township was also approved, garnering just over 66% of the vote.

A Proposition to increase the extension limitation of Bensenville Fire District #2 was approved 2883 votes to 2145.

A similar Proposition for the Wood Dale Fire District was denied, with 3355 voters saying ‘No,’ to the 2668 voting ‘Yes.’

[Ed. note: Mail-in ballots will be counted up until Nov. 17, as long as they were postmarked by Tuesday, Nov. 3. Until that time, all results are unofficial.

These results were taken from the DuPage County Board of Elections.]


Comments are closed

Sorry, but you cannot leave a comment for this post.